

List of Hydroelectric Power Plants in India

Hydropower projects are categorised as large or small based on their size. Small hydropower projects are classified differently in different countries based on their size. Small hydro power plants in India are those with a capacity of 25 MW or less. Prior to 1989, the Ministry of Power was in charge of hydropower. Plant capacity of 3MW and below was handed to the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) in 1989.

States	River	Hydroelectric Power Plant
Andhra Pradesh	Krishna	Nagarjunasagar Hydro Electric Power plant
Andhra Pradesh	Krishna	Srisailam Hydro Electric Power plant
Andhra Pradesh, Orissa	Machkund	Machkund Hydro Electric Power plant
Gujarat	Narmada	Sardar Sarovar Hydro Electric Power plant
Himachal Pradesh	Baira	Baira-Siul Hydroelectric Power plant
Himachal Pradesh	Sutlej	Bhakra Nangal Hydroelectric Power plant





Himachal Pradesh	Beas	Dehar Hydroelectric Power plant
Himachal Pradesh	Sutlej	Nathpa Jhakri Hydroelectric Power plant
Jammu and Kashmir	Chenab	Salal Hydro Electric Power plant
Jammu and Kashmir	Jhelum	Uri Hydro Electric Power plant
Jharkhand	Subarnarekha	Subarnarekha Hydroelectric Power plant
Karnataka	Kalinadi	Kalinadi Hydro Electric Power plant
Karnataka	Sharavathi	Sharavathi Hydroelectric Power plant
Karnataka	Kaveri	Shivanasamudra Hydroelectric Power plant
Kerala	Periyar	Idukki Hydro Electric Power plant
Madhya Pradesh	Sone	Bansagar Hydroelectric





/ \	1	1
		Power plant
Madhya Pradesh	Narmada	Indira Sagar Hydro Electric Power plant
Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh	Rihand	Rihand Hydroelectric Power plant
Maharashtra	Koyna	Koyna Hydroelectric Power plant
Manipur	Leimtak	Loktak Hydro Electric Power plant
Odisha	Sileru	Balimela Hydro Electric Power plant
Odisha	Mahanadi	Hirakud Hydro Electric Power plant
Sikkim	Rangit	Rangit Hydroelectric Power plant
Sikkim	Teesta	Teesta Hydro Electric Power plant
Uttarakhand	Bhagirathi	Tehri Hydro Electric Power plant





Himachal Pradesh	Baspa	Baspa-II Hydro Electric Power plant
Himachal Pradesh	Satluj	Nathpa Jhakri Hydro Electric Power Plant
Himachal Pradesh	Beas	Pandoh Dam
Himachal Pradesh	Ravi	Chamera-I
Himachal Pradesh	Ravi	Chamera-II
Himachal Pradesh	Beas	Pong
Jammu and Kashmir	Chenab	Dulhasti

Facts about Hydroelectric Power plants in India

- 1. The Koyna Hydroelectric Project is the largest completed hydroelectric power plant in India. It has a power capacity of 1960 MW.
- 2. The first hydroelectric power station was the Sidrapong hydroelectric power station.
- 3. Tehri Hydro Electric Power plant is the highest hydroelectric power project in the country, also Tehri Dam is the tallest one in India. Now, NTPC has taken over the project (Since 2019).
- 4. Srisailam Hydro Power Plant is the third largest working project in India.
- 5. Nathpa Jhakri Hydroelectric Power Plant is the biggest underground hydroelectric power project in the country.



Contact Us +91 9981516838, 8103195321



6. Sardar Sarovar Dam is the world's second-largest concrete dam.

